I didn’t realize until I got away from the village that I badly needed a break from there.  Zambia has been amazing.  The people here are very friendly and I feel very relaxed here.  Seeing that I’m at an internet cafe in the hostel, I can only write a brief update – will add more when I get home on the weekend.

When we arrived at our hostel in Livingstone, we dropped our bags and headed to Victoria Falls immediately.  And honestly, words can’t describe them.  They are absolutely gorgeous… a must see!

I understand why it is one of the Seven Wonders of the World!

Amy and I at the Boiling Pot - the bottom of the gorge.

Today we did the SCARIEST thing I have ever done – we walked along the edge of the falls and swam in Devil’s Pool – a pool of water less than 2m from the falls.  They warned us that it was only for strong swimmers and I almost changed my mind at the last minute (as I only do a very relaxed butterfly stroke) but I am so glad I went for it.  The guide stayed by me the entire time and had to grab me in the rapids a couple times.  The photos say it all!

Livingstone Island - at the lip of the falls.

Taking the plunge into Devil's Pool!

"Is this really happening?"

Just looking at those photos I get chills!  Needless to say, I am happy to be alive right now!  The rest of the day today I will be relaxing in the sun by the pool and drinking margaritas to celebrate!  Ahhh vacation!

