Obviously, this Thanksgiving there won’t be turkey or pumpkin pie.  There won’t be family or friends to share it with.  But there will be a lot of thankfulness.

During Life Skills today we discussed the traditions of Canadian Thanksgiving and the learners were very interested.  They had difficulty comprehending the idea of ‘stuffing’ a turkey and were curious about the wishbone routine.

And in true Giraldi household style, I made the learners say one thing they were thankful for.  Here are some of their comments:

“I am thankful for water.

I am thankful for happy birthdays.

I am thankful for maize and porridge.

I am thankful for God who protect me from the beginning until now.

I am thankful for the breakfast that I ate today.

I am thankful to see the sun.

I am thankful for being able to come to school.

I am thankful for chicken.

I am thankful for my father’s work.

I am thankful for sweets.

I am thankful for cabbage.

I am thankful for onions.

I am thankful for waking up today.

I am thankful to have my own opinion.

I am thankful for Miss Tanya who comes from far to teach us very well.”

Every day here I face the question – why me?  Why was I born into a loving, giving family in a developed country full of opportunity?  I often don’t feel deserving of the life that awaits me at home.  Being here makes me thankful for even the smallest things that I didn’t appreciate before… shoes that fit, sidewalks, hot water and drive thru coffee!  I am able to recognize what a great country Canada is – a place where hard work and dedication can lead to success and where dreams can come true quite regularly.

But specifically, today, I am thankful for…

…Mom, Dad & Jan, Alisa, Kayla and Jamie who call me every single week without fail

…my feet –  that have brought me around the world and given me the chance to experience life and culture outside of Canada

…technology – email, internet and external hard drives (with movies and tv shows to pass the time!)

…my healthy teeth and the yearly dentist appointments my mom dragged me to

… chocolate and coffee and the fact that they can be found anywhere in the world

And I am especially thankful that in 70 days I will be home – where I belong, surrounded by my loving family and friends.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

 

 

